top of page
Ali

Inspired Green Chicken Curry

Updated: Jun 4, 2020


As we stressed enough over time, living in London gives you the opportunity to explore every existing cuisine from all around the world, maintaining always their traditional taste and flavours!

Today I am talking about THAI food!

When I first went to a Thai restaurant I did not really liked it to be honest. I thought it was too much unusual having a sweet taste in a salty dish.

As I discussed this a lot with my friends, I think that this is mainly because I am Italian. Italian flavours are very simple and we do not mix flavours a lot. Therefore when we end up trying something a bit far off of our usual we do not like it! ( I want to take this opportunity to apologise for our "nazy" against every food that is not Italian... It is in our DNA and it is difficult to fight the monster inside!)

However, after I firstly found this type of food too far from ME, I then found myself dreaming about this flavours over and over again. I kept looking for it, I desired it over and over again and I finally become a huge fan of Thai ! I found a local delicious restaurant and it became one of my favourite cuisine!

I started loving the "sweet and chilly" mix of the Thai cuisine and I started experimenting this in my kitchen with different dishes. With the on-going lockdown I started missing this a lot so I decided to try this at home! Of course I realised how many different ingredients go into an amazing Thai dish and I struggled to find all the ingredients in normal shops!

Therefore what I am doing now is my revisited recipe ( very revisited and far away from the original dish therefore I am not going to say it is "Thai ") of one of my favourite Thai dish:

the green curry!



Doses for 2 portions

INGREDIENTS

- 300 g chicken

- 2 potatoes ( medium size)

- 10 green beans ( three spoons of peas if you do not have it)

- 400 mls of coconut milk

- 1 spoon of caster sugar

- 2 spoons of coconut oil ( or vegetable oil)

- 1 tbsp green curry paste

- optional 1 onion

- 1 garlic clove

- 1 lime zest

- few basil leaves


EQUIPMENTS

- pot

- wok or pan


PROCEDURE


If you have time, few hours before start cooking, chop the chicken in cubes and put it in a bowl and covered entirely with coconut milk.


Start the recipe by chopping the potatoes in cubes of 2 cm approximately and put it to boil for 5 minutes.


Add the green beans and cook for approximately 5 minutes then turn drain and leave it aside (I did not have any green beans therefore I used three spoons of frozen peas).


In a wok heat up 2 spoons of oil ( coconut or vegetable oil) and let 1 garlic clove get golden (do not burn it or it will ruin the taste!)


You can add here also a onion sliced finely, if you like it.

Once the garlic is goldened, add a tablespoon of green curry and mix it for few minutes in order to release all the green curry taste.


Add 400 mls of coconut milk and bring to boil



Chop the chicken in cubes of approximately 2-3 cm

Once the milk has started to boil add the chicken and cook at a small heat for about 6-8 minutes



Add lime zest, the potatoes and the green beans (or peas).


Cook for another 8-10 minutes at a very low heat and cover with a lid.

If you like you can add few leaves of basil and turn off the hob. In the meantime cook some white rice as side for your green curry.



Now you are ready to enjoy you Thai!






SUGGESTIONS

The green curry can be done as a "fish" versions with prawns and squid cooked the same way ( just less time and with a very low heat or it will become chewy!) or It can be done as a vegan option with only vegetable as tofu, sweet corns and peppers instead!


enjoy!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page